Toad Lily, a beautiful fall perennial

Fall has always been my favorite season; maybe its the transition of the color palette. As my summer garden begins to fade I began to explore other possibilities to keep the garden lively with color.  Toad lilies keep shady gardens from getting dull at the end of the season. This easy-care perennial offers intricate, orchid-like flowers from late summer to mid-fall. They grow to 3 feet tall and 2 feet wide.

Right now I am feeling guilty because my husband is outside raking leaves while I am inside painting with watercolors and pen & ink. I think it’s time to take a break from painting and become a “clean-up artist”.

I woud love to know if anyone has succesfully grown this flower.

More flowers to come as I continue my research.
About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
This entry was posted in art, flowers, Marian's Art Studio, nature, pen & ink, watercolor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Toad Lily, a beautiful fall perennial

  1. Judy says:

    Nice sketch! Looks like a gorgeous flower– I’ve never heard of it. Wonder if it grows in PA?

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      Hi Judy, Here is a little more Toad Lilly info. Thanks for your feedback! Hope this is helpful. Marian

      Unique late-summer shade flower!

      A mix of orchid-like, 1- to 1 1/2-in. flowers displays petals in spotted shades of purple, red and white. Plants grow 18 to 24 in., blooming from late summer to fall, adding interest at a time when few other plants are blooming. Easy to grow and naturalize. Zones 5-8.

      Like

I welcome your comments.

