The Wedding Present

The Wedding Present

When I announced my engagement of marriage, 43 years ago, mom gave me this wooden bowl. She had a wooden bowl that I always admired. We use our bowl for everything. It’s our TV popcorn bowl, our fruit bowl, our salad bowl, sometimes it houses our mail, and from time to time my grandsons collect items and store them in this bowl. As presents go, it was our first. Many of the other presents that were on our “registry” have come & gone, while this bowl still sits regally on our kitchen counter. Our wooden bowl has developed a beautiful patina reflecting its age and use. I am always delighted to use and look at this bowl. But the most important thing about this bowl is the memory it triggers of Mom.

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
Image | This entry was posted in art, family, Marian's Art Studio, memories, nature, pen & ink, watercolor, watercolors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Wedding Present

  1. masqua says:

    The colours you used in this painting are gorgeous and the accented edges really work for me. Nicely done.

    Like

  2. Marilyn says:

    Marian, that is a wonderful memory.

    Like

  3. robinwinter says:

    Great strong colors, nothing tentative about this, a great painterly statement and a delightful story to go with it…

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      Hi Robin, thanks for your detailed, thoughtful feedback, visiting my blog, and liking my paintings! I LOVE your painting of the Nigerian Boys. The deep, rich colors are dramatic – this is very, very appealing. I also like the way you use the negative space. Best, Marian

      Like

I welcome your comments.

