Tea Time

Tea Time

I am working on arranging items to make a pleasing composition for my paintings. At the same time, I am targeting shadows. I’m having fun finding items in my house to include as my subjects. This is my mom’s tea cup, Anitas’ tea pot (a gift), a little bowl I bought when I visited Hungary, and clementines from Trader Joes. I am wondering if its significant that my choices always include food?

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
Image | This entry was posted in art, food, fruit, Marian's Art Studio, still life, watercolor, watercolors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tea Time

  1. Linda B. says:

    My whole house is arranged around food – a table in every room on the first floor! Of course it’s significant. It’s your interpretation :-)!

    Like

  2. mehrlich125 says:

    Linda, I also have a table in every room on the first floor, so I guess my interpretation is similar to your interpretation. The best of times in this house have been spent around tables filled with food. They say that you are what you eat, maybe I am what I paint, a foodie!

    Like

  3. Your shadows are wonderful as are the all the other elements including food:)

    Like

  4. Elena, thanks for your kind comments. For better or worse, I am anchored to a food theme right now. Finding tidbits of food and items in my home to arrange into a composition feels friendly and comfortable. My mom, a huge teacup collector, would have enjoyed seeing her teacups on the painted page. I try to stick to healthy foods but I cannot guarantee that I will not veer off that path. Marian

    Like

  5. Liz says:

    So Impressed!

    Like

I welcome your comments.

