Tea Time 2

Tea Time 2

I’m not sure why I never considered painting my mom’s teacups before, but for now it feels so right. Adding objects from around my house to round out the composition is an easy task – there is lots of “stuff” from which to choose. I like adding some food to the picture it feels comfortable.

In the spirit of learning, a blog friend suggested watching Charles Reid videos. This was really helpful. In the video, he has suggestions on composition, mixing colors, and applying washes. He is inspirational and makes it all look so easy.

As summer approaches, I have started to gather information for sketching and painting outside. Another blog friend mentioned urbansketchers.com and dannygregory.com for tips on sketching outside. Both links are helpful. Lots of people seem to like the Moleskin bound sketch books. If you have another suggestion I would love to know. The jury is still out on using watercolor pencils, watercolor pens, or a small transportable palette with tube paint. What do you use? I’m interested and want to begin to organize materials, but definitely want to consider traveling “lightly.”

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
Image | This entry was posted in art, desserts, flowers, food, fruit, Marian's Art Studio, memories, still life, sweets, watercolor, watercolors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tea Time 2

  1. The strawberries look so good. I can faintly taste the ones we grew a few years ago.

    Like

  2. Many years ago we grew our own strawberries. We even kept white mesh over the berries so the birdies wouldn’t want to taste our crop. It was a while until we discovered why we were not getting lots of berries. One day I looked out the window and saw a tiny kindergarten girl lift the white mesh and sit down and eat her fill of berries. We laughed pretty hard, and went out and filled a basket for her to take home.

    Like

  3. Brenda says:

    Love your new works I have about forty of my mothers cups if you need more inspiration!!

    Like

  4. Another beautifully engaging still life! Glad you found the vid. useful. I go back and watch it every few months. I’ve played with watercolor pencils, but found that I either use them or the paint. I haven’t worked out a way to use them on the same piece.
    I have a tiny plastic flat palette that I set up like an oil painter’s palette. My tube watercolors dry and then are transportable. It cleans up really easily, put it in a plastic bag with a couple of brushes, a tiny water container, a small watercolor block or watercolor moleskin, a couple of tissues, and travel. One little bag to shlep:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • mehrlich125 says:

      Elena, thank you so much for your kind comment. I loved the video you suggested and just found out that CR is offering a 5 day watercolor class on Cape Cod this summer. It’s $$$ and guess what…it’s already sold out. Thanks for the water color backpacking tips. Your ideas will be really helpful in pulling together my sketching pouch for the beach this summer. I can’t wait!

      Like

  5. Marilyn Held says:

    Each new painting is more beautiful than the next. I remember when you grew your strawberries. I wish that I was as clever as that little girl. They were very tempting. I can taste them now.

    Like

  6. Deena says:

    I love how the painting came out…..

    Like

I welcome your comments.

