Tea Time 3

Tea Time 3

So, it’s snowing and sleeting like crazy in Boston again. Knowing I would be in the house today I decided to take a field trip around the first floor looking for items to paint. I spotted my mother’s little teacup .  The blue color attracted me. It says Copeland, England on the bottom. The glass candies in the painting are “bits and pieces” that I picked up on a trip to Venice years ago and the bud vase was a holiday teacher gift from a former student.

I like painting items to which I have an emotional attachment.

I have done two things lately to find mistakes in my work. I turn the painting upside down and/or I take a photo with my phone and then send it to my computer. It’s amazing how quickly I can spot mistakes that my brain had otherwise accepted as correct.

Oh well, nothing is perfect, but I thought I would share this anyway.

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
Image | This entry was posted in art, desserts, flowers, food, Marian's Art Studio, memories, still life, sweets, watercolor, watercolors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tea Time 3

  1. Linda Burgin says:

    I especially like the teacup & rose. Clever method, using technology.

    Linda

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

  2. Two really good methods of sleuthing for problems. I also use a mirror in my studio, especially for still life. The candies make the composition:)

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      Elena, my current painting teacher also uses the mirror approach. I will definitely give it a try. Regarding the candies…thank you for the compliment. I love the concept of some food with the teacup. If they were not make of glass I would have eaten them up!

      Like

  3. We always see what we think are mistakes in our own work that others don’t see. Art is so subjective. When I wove any flaw would stand out to me like a neon sign. Others couldn’t see it al all.

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      I couldn’t agree with you more! There is a little, tiny critic that lives inside my head. Sometimes, that tiny critic pops out at the most inopportune moments and tries to make me look at things with different eyes.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jana Bouc says:

    Those are such helpful ways to check a painting, and of course mirrors, like Elena says. For some reason I find it really easy to see problems in other people’s paintings when we have critiques in my group, but am blind to my own without using a tool to check. Did you intentionally post tiny thumbnail pictures of this and the next two most recent paintings? Sadly they’re almost impossible to see and don’t get larger when clicked on.

    Like

I welcome your comments.

