Signs of Spring

Signs of Spring

The moment I walked into my painting class yesterday I got nervous. I could smell the fragrance of the lilacs. I love lilacs but they sometimes cause me to have a sneezing fit which can be really embarrassing. Fortunately, yesterday they did not and I got a chance to paint the ones that Paul, my instructor, brought to the table.

I used watercolors and a touch of pen to complete my painting. Paul allowed me to borrow some Purple Madder (Windsor Newton) and Mineral Violet (Holbein). It was faster than mixing all of the colors.

Finally, spring has arrived in Boston. Flowers are showing their colors. It feels so invigorating to go outside without my coat, boots, and scarf.

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
Image | This entry was posted in art, flowers, Lilacs, Marian's Art Studio, nature, still life, watercolor, watercolors and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Signs of Spring

  1. Brenda Carey says:

    Lilacs my favorite

    Brenda Carey

    Like

  2. Deena says:

    I love your work…..and nothing is better then the smell of lilacs…

    Like

  3. Harriet says:

    Your work is refreshing to me. Keep sending your beautiful pictures.

    Like

  4. mehrlich125 says:

    Many thanks, Harriet!

    Like

  5. Erik Davis says:

    Nice job leaving the white space. That’s a nice touch that can easily be forgotten!

    Like

  6. windhound says:

    Beautiful colours and composition.

    Like

  7. Thank you Marian for sharing with us your paintings and light. I like your flowers, your landscapes and your comments which seems to be done also as a watercolor touch… Wish you Happy Christmas and all the best in New Coming Year for you and your family.

    Like

I welcome your comments.

