Winter Study in Values

Winter Study in Values

I am taking a series of workshops on Cape Cod with a wonderful instructor, Kate Aubrey. The most recent workshop focused on trees, outer shapes, bird holes, and values. Kate asked us to focus on lights, mediums and darks using one color. I selected French Ultramarine. Kate suggested working from light to dark, which worked well for me. Another interesting source, for newbies to watercolor like me, are books by Steve Quillar that focus on value and mixing colors. I think I may buy the Quillar Wheel, a map of how to mix colors. It’s also in most of his books and/or it is sold on Amazon.

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
Image | This entry was posted in art, Marian's Art Studio, nature, trees, watercolor, watercolors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter Study in Values

  1. Linda B. says:

    Has a very Asian flair which I find very appealing. A stunning color. Especially because it’s unexpected!

    Like

I welcome your comments.

