Dahlias

Dahlias

I’ve had a crazy, busy summer and now that fall has arrived life is settling back into a familiar rhythm. After completing a renovation on our cape house, which began last March, I am able to return to my watercolor painting. With a few stops along the way, I am now entering year #3 of learning how to handle watercolors. I still feel like I am in my infancy as a painter. There is so much to understand and practice.

A friend brought these dahlias, from her garden, to our class. It was amazing to see how different everyone’s painting looked at the end of class.

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
Image | This entry was posted in art, flowers, Marian's Art Studio, nature, still life, watercolor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dahlias

  1. Marilyn Held says:

    This one is really special. I can smell the flowers.

    Like

  2. Fantastic shadows! Lovely!

    Like

    • Marian says:

      When I painted this floral arrangement I felt loose with the watercolors and it felt great. It came together surprisingly quickly. Thanks for noticing the shadows. It’s my favorite part.

      Like

  3. violetski says:

    I’m agree with Elena too ! Fantastic shadows , Marian . Love this work ❤️
    And dahlias , those gorgeous flowers , remind me my grandpa’s garden ❤️❤️❤️

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      I am realizing how very important shadows are to my finished piece of work. I appreciate your comment a lot! I love when the watercolors mix together yet maintain their own importance as separate colors. It’s beautiful when that happens. Happy accidents!

      Like

I welcome your comments.

