Lilies, Amazing Blooms

Lilies, Amazing Blooms

Lilies are magnificent flowers that command attention wherever they are planted. True lilies grow from plump, scaly bulbs. They have always been one of my garden favorites.

Lily flowers are valued for their very showy, often fragrant flowers. The 6 plain or strikingly marked tepals (“petals”) are often trumpet-shaped, sitting atop tall, erect stems.

Lilies take readily to containers. They all make wonderful cut flowers.

Planting
Plant bulbs in autumn. Loosen the soil to a depth of 12 to 15 inches. The deep planting encourages the developing stem to send out roots to help stabilize the plant and perhaps eliminate the need for staking.

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
Image | This entry was posted in art, flowers, nature, still life, watercolor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lilies, Amazing Blooms

  1. Your lilies seem to be gracefully dancing!

    Like

  2. violetski says:

    Beautiful lilies Marian ! Love the way you colored them !
    I was surprise to see many paintings here and I missed them all . I have problem in my wordpress readers and new posts are not coming to me !
    Anyway , happy to see your beautiful works 😃❤️

    Like

I welcome your comments.

