Fading Mums

Fading Mums

I painted this watercolor of fading chrysanthemums after visiting a spectacular display of watercolors at the Newton Public Library in Newton, MA.  Judy Metcalfe, the artist, inspired me to try my hand at observing glass and light more closely. Judy is a master painter. If you would like to see her work her email is below.

Here is her email: jdy@judymetcalfe.com. I hope you enjoy her work as much as I did.

My fading flowers came from my garden and the vase belonged to my mom.

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
Image | This entry was posted in art, flowers, Marian's Art Studio, nature, still life, watercolor, watercolors and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fading Mums

  1. WIDGETSR@aol.com says:

    that is beautiful. Harriet

    Like

  2. Quite beautiful. The mood, the light, the vase, but especially the shadows!

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      Thanks, Elena! For some reason I feel most comfortable allowing the paints to move freely in shadow areas. I may give this painting/still life another shot with a looser brush. Light is another subject. Chasing the light is fun, but challenging!

      Like

  3. Hello Har & Sar says:

    Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

    Like

I welcome your comments.

