Jim’s lighthouse revisited

Jim's lighthouse revisited

Inspired by my art teacher, Julie, I decided to try the lighthouse in another venue. Although I like the more natural environment I miss the sparkling ocean water which in my mind is off to the left. This will be cause for a third attempt which combines ocean water, a lighthouse, and rocks. I also prefer the more traditional little lighthouse building structure than the sea shanty.

Any tips on painting rocks? Feel free to offer suggestions.

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
Image | This entry was posted in art, beach, landscape, lighthouses, Marian's Art Studio, nature, ocean, still life, watercolor, watercolors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Jim’s lighthouse revisited

  1. Linda B. says:

    The first one with the sea seemed more real. I liked that better. The second one had individual sections I liked (the lighthouse & the surroundings) but not together. Seemed out of sync.

    Like

  2. Linda B. says:

    When I compare the two, one of the things I like better in the 2nd painting is the more natural flow of the land – it’s more graceful & textured than the ground in the first one. Maybe you can combine the two with the sea & the other house (not the shanty)?

    Like

  3. I adore the elegant simplicity of this piece exactly as it is.

    Like

  4. mehrlich125 says:

    Thank you, Elena! Thank you SO much.

    Like

  5. Hello Marian. What a fantastic blog with some wonderful watercolours. Where I live – Portland, Dorset, England, we have a nice lighthouse also ๐Ÿ™‚
    By the way, thank you for visiting my little blogsite.
    Stew.

    Like

I welcome your comments.

