Highland Lighthouse, Truro, Cape Cod

Highland Lighthouse, Truro, Cape Cod

Revision #3 of my lighthouse painting for Jim, my brother-in-law, was a soothing project for this snowy, wintry day in Boston. Realizing I feel more fulfilled when I have an emotional attachment to my subject, I decided to pursue a true lighthouse rather than making one up.

I remembered visiting Highland Lighthouse in Truro at the tip of Cape Cod (near Provincetown) this summer. The beach is gorgeous and the lighthouse memorable. Now Jim will have a real lighthouse to look at!

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
Image | This entry was posted in art, beach, landscape, lighthouses, Marian's Art Studio, memories, nature, ocean, watercolor, watercolors and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Highland Lighthouse, Truro, Cape Cod

  1. Linda Burgin says:

    Jim loves it! I covered up the writing so he doesn’t know what you’re doing but he said, “That’s beautiful!” Pay dirt!!!! 😍

    Like

  2. Beautiful Marian watercolor.

    Like

  3. Linda Burgin says:

    He loves it! Safely in the house. Next is the framer. So lovely. Jim was very moved.

    Like

  4. Love the warm colors and the excellent, unexpected violet in the sky-terrific!

    Like

  5. Gorgeous, Marian. I love the bit of violet in the sky, too!

    Like

  6. doronart says:

    That is super work thank you for visiting me so I found you. Love to see people who enjoy their world their painting.

    Like

  7. Carol King says:

    Great painting. I love the sky.

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      A huge thanks for your compliment, Carol. I appreciate your finding me so I could enjoy your blog. You’re very funny and I like your personal approach to writing and your art work. I will follow!

      Like

  8. windhound says:

    This is so Scottish and reminds me of one of my favourite places of my childhod! Stunning that different parts of the world share visual clues. I have just relaunched dragonshades.com as a website and blog and discovered two of your lovely comments that I missed so replies to these coming up soon. My new blog can’t seem to connect with the Like option only the Coments box, something to do with the new design! I love your work.

    Like

  9. Mimi says:

    Very lovely!

    Like

  10. lesliepaints says:

    Found it, Marian! This is beautiful; so warm and inviting with your color choices. Really like that juicy sky with the colors running together, too!

    Like

I welcome your comments.

