The Dancers, a pen and ink drawing

IMG_4320

In an effort to continue my study of drawing I had some fun working on figure studies. Using waterproof micron pens I created an interactive pose using the wooden figure my teacher lent to me. Using cross-hatching as a method to interpret contour and shading is fun and allows me to keep the light. The drawing is on newsprint.

IMG_4306

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
This entry was posted in art, dancers, figure drawing, Marian's Art Studio, pen & ink and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Dancers, a pen and ink drawing

  1. lesliepaints says:

    They are dancing? No…they were fighting and the one is holding an arm up and warding off the other. Very creative. 🙂

    Like

  2. Lovely drawings. Those little wooden figures offer so many interesting opportunities.

    Like

  3. Carol King says:

    How fun! I like how you positioned your figures.

    Like

  4. Terrific! I love your range of values

    Like

  5. mehrlich125 says:

    Thanks, Elena! I fooled around with the lighting and found when it came from directly overhead I got the most pleasing shadows.

    Like

I welcome your comments.

