Summer Lilies, pen and ink

Image 2 Image

I spotted these gorgeous lilies sitting on my neighbor’s sun deck.

My goal is to paint the flowers using watercolor paint. But first I wanted to complete a black and white study.  The color of the flowers is a fabulous bright rose. Meanwhile, I tried colored pencils but I am really disappointed in the color pink. It’s not nearly bright enough. Also, I am not pleased with the blending of colors with the pencils.

I bought Prismacolor Premier pencils. Can anyone suggest how to blend the colors on the paper?

Tomorrow I will attempt to paint these flowers in watercolor! I am hoping for better results.

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
This entry was posted in art, flowers, glass, Marian's Art Studio, nature, pen & ink, still life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Summer Lilies, pen and ink

  1. Deena says:

    I can’t wait to see the watercolor…I thought the pencil looked great!

    Like

  2. lesliepaints says:

    I like the different ways you used different strokes to create your value study, Marian. I think Prismacolor are the best. Colored pencil is the second medium I have dabbled in and enjoy, but they take “FOREVER” to achieve a rich glow in your colors and it all comes from layering color. It is fun, though! I practiced on Bristol paper, first, rather than textured (learned that the hard way). Now, I use a fine sanded paper. Find a book or search online for someone who is teaching or talking about or demonstrating layering colors. I had to take a couple of classes from an accomplished colored pencil painter (local) in order to get the feel and sense about how many layers it took to make my paintings look the way I wanted them to. I think many people who start out in colored pencil don’t realize the time they take to create. Hope that helps.

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      Leslie, you are right! I had no idea how long it would take to layer the pencil color to achieve a satisflying effect. Thanks for this information. Now I understand that I can create that deep, rich color…it just takes TIME! Laying colors slowly appears to be the answer. I tried to rush the application of “darks” and yuck, it looked awful. I have some Bristol paper so I’ll give it another shot. I appreciate your thoughtful, detailed response!

      Like

  3. LucyJartz says:

    This is a very nice b/w study. I am having trouble with my pinks coming out too red in watercolor lately, because the blooms I am referencing are almost fluorescent. I look forward to seeing the lilies progress in color. These are lilies from my front yard, March 2013. https://wordpress.com/post/29401339/4389

    Like

  4. Pingback: Lilies at Easter 2013 | Visual Fling

  5. I am NO expert with Prismacolor, but the big sets come with a blender. It tends to darken. The only other way was already beautifully explained above. I admire your studies. I’m sure that the watercolor painting will be quite marvelous.

    Like

  6. mehrlich125 says:

    Hmm…a blender, I’ll definitely explore that as an option. Thanks, Elena!

    Like

I welcome your comments.

