Abstract, something new…

IMG_4391 I had a lot of opportunity this summer to “test” my art wings. A lovely new friend introduced me to abstract art. Thanks, Lois!

I started by drawing some interesting shapes, rotating them around the paper, adding new shapes, on a whim,  for interest.  Next, I selected my color palette. I chose three colors and later decided to add a fourth for highlight. I tried it twice once with a yellowish highlight and again with a darker highlight, each time allowing a “light” path to enter and exit the painting. I used Saran wrap and salt particles for texture on top of pigment. A fun activity for sure! I think I may try this again.

IMG_4392

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
This entry was posted in art, Marian's Art Studio, watercolor, watercolors and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Abstract, something new…

  1. amelie says:

    it turned out realy interesting

    Like

  2. isabella says:

    This is really beautiful and interesting, Marian! I love your choice of colors.
    Love,
    Isabella

    Like

  3. Joyce Kramer says:

    Omg!! I love this abstract!!! Do some more! Teach me!!! Omg… Brilliant!

    Joyce

    Like

  4. Dear talented , generous Marian, I do not know you, nor do I know how we got hooked up but I am sure glad we did as I love everything you send ! I look forward to seeing and hearing ( reading ) about your explorations in art . I find myself saying ( thinking ) I wish I could intern, work for , with Marian ! Then .. I wait for your next visit . THANKYOU for taking the time to share your life as a creative , I need the courage along with the technique so for now I am a happy patron of the arts .
    Sincerely , Leslie

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      Dear Leslie, how wonderful to discover your very kind words. I have a blog at WordPress and I do love sharing my work and my explorations. I do believe I know you. In fact, I look forward to seeing you in Dan’s drawing class on Monday morning! Best regards, Marian

      Like

  5. Deena says:

    I love all your different styles…..your work is wonderful!

    Like

  6. This is quite beautiful, Marian. I love the salted areas providing gentle textures matched with the understated color palette. The eye moves joyfully, following the light, allover the piece! I love it!

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      Thanks, Elena! This was uncharted territory for me. I found lots of freedom to have fun and feel creative. I had to work quickly which is good practice for me as I’m pokey. I may try it again!

      Like

  7. lesliepaints says:

    This is so interesting!

    Like

I welcome your comments.

