Painting on Yupo

Freedom

Freedom

I love this synthetic paper. It’s made for watercolors. It’s freeing and forgiving and so much fun! I saw a demonstration a few weeks ago and I couldn’t wait to give it a try. Watching the colors mix on paper is amazing! There are lots of u tube videos available to watch. You must work with the paper in a flat position as the paint will run off if raised. It takes awhile to dry. Let me know if you try it. You can get this Yupo paper at most art supply stores.

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
This entry was posted in art, beach, Marian's Art Studio, ocean, Painting on Yupo, watercolor, watercolor painting, watercolors, Yupo and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Painting on Yupo

  1. Great painting, such vibrant colours. I have just been using liquid pencil on yupo, I love the way it pools and dries with interesting textures.

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      Anna, thank you for your response. The vibrancy of color is pleasing for me as well. I find I need to use thicker pigment to make the statement I am looking to achieve. I checked your latest post with your yupo drawings. I love the black and white studies. The drawings are lovely as is. No need for more color to my eye. The gentle bend in the botanicals draws in my eye and your masterful use of value adds detail that is truly captivating. I also love the beauty of fading flowers and deem them worthy of recording. Have an artful day! Marian.

      Like

  2. I’m sold! I’ve always wanted to try Yupo but never have. It’s on my supply list now:) Love the watery brilliance of color and movement in your painting!

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      Thank you, Elena! At first, when my friend Joyce told me she loved Yupo I was hesitant. It’s plastic! This is a very different non-absorbing paper and painting experience. The pigment sits on the top of the paper and often goes its own way creating interesting twists and turns. Oh, try not to put your fingers on the paper as it causes a resist. Let me know what you think.

      Like

  3. lesliepaints says:

    Yupo is fun and so challenging to work on! Some artists take Yupo to the nth degree and create wonderful large paintings using all sorts of printing techniques and watery painterly effects. Love your goldfish!

    Like

  4. I had a friend, Dottie, who was a watercolor artist, she was always open to new things, tried Yupo and liked it very much.

    Like

  5. Carol King says:

    wow! gorgeous colors. Can you recommend any you tube videos? I can always just search for them but wondered if there was one or two in particular that you liked.

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      Carol, Watercolor Painting on YUPO® with Mark Mehaffey is a great video to learn techniques. Two other artists to google are Elizabeth Pratt and George James. They are all very accomplished with yupo. Check out this month’s article on George James in Watercolor Artist magazine. Have fun with yupo!

      Like

I welcome your comments.

