Free Floating

Free Floating

Yupo paper 13X20, 74 lb weight, bright white

My second try at working with Yupo paper involved a fall theme. I began by drawing a pleasing repetitive pattern using leaves from outside as models. I played with dropping in a variety of watercolors allowing them to mix on the plastic surface. As the paint dried I added leafy-type details.

IMG_4609

The painting looked too plain so I went outside again and looked for another variety of leaves. Again I drew them overlapping and decided to paint them a soft bluish color. Later, I added the darker blue/lavender background. I think I may add more darks under some of the leaves to make them pop. But for now I’m going to leave the painting alone for a while.

Yupo paper is astonishing!

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
This entry was posted in art, landscape, Marian's Art Studio, nature, Painting on Yupo, Painting on Yupo, watercolor, watercolor painting, watercolors, Yupo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Free Floating

  1. Linda B. says:

    I feel like I could touch the leaves – almost hear them crunch. Marvelous.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. windhound says:

    Such a good theme with endlessly fascinating possibilities to train your eyes to see all the colours.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Deena says:

    I would say that you certainly mastered painting with Yupo paper. The painting is wonderful…

    Like

  4. I’m so impressed with your color, control, the contours and the sheer beauty of this! Fantastic!

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      Elena, your words are very much appreciated! I’m happy that I caught the leaves before today. Boston is in the middle of a rainy nor’easter. Temperatures dropped below 50 and all those gorgeous leaves are crumbled.

      Like

  5. I love these !
    Will discover Yupo paper for myself now … Thanks Marian
    For your delightful discoveries , generously shared .

    Liked by 1 person

    • mehrlich125 says:

      Hi Leslie! Thank you for your kind comments. I think you will enjoy using Yupo paper. At first its a bit tricky until you adjust to the difference from regular watercolor paper. But it offers a wealth of opportunity. So nice to hear from you!

      Like

  6. Beautiful, Marian. Looks like leaves floating on water.

    Like

  7. lesliepaints says:

    Absolutely splendid color!

    Like

  8. mehrlich125 says:

    Leslie, I am pleased with the way Yupo paper retains optimum color. Because the surface is plastic the color never absorbs into the paper. When I paint on watercolor paper I find the color dries to about half brilliance. Its fun/challenging to try something new and different.

    Like

  9. Jana Bouc says:

    Wow! These are gorgeous! I’ve fooled around with Yupo and enjoyed it but never tried to make anything look real like these leaves. Stunning!

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      Thanks so very much, Jana! I find a freedom on yupo while moving the paint around to gain a pleasing pattern. Allowing the paint to dry thoroughly makes it possible to layer paint & slide in details/realism.

      Like

  10. Carol King says:

    I have always wanted to try Yupo paper. After seeing this post I think I will get some sheets and give it a whirl.

    Like

  11. mehrlich125 says:

    Carol, enjoy! I sent you some names/videos to pursue. Look forward to hearing what you think about yupo!

    Like

  12. I like the way you’ve achieved a random, loose quality, while keeping control of the subject.

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      Thanks, Diane! Yupo allows a looser quality. Over the couple of years I’ve painted, I have worked to achieve a more relaxed effect with my watercolors as my brush stokes are often too tight for my liking. At heart I am a detailed pen and pencil girl so this is a big achievement for me. Thanks for following. I look forward to seeing more of your work!

      Like

I welcome your comments.

