Hmmm…a yupo question?

I plan to order more yupo paper. Can anyone speak to the difference in the 74 lb sheet of paper vs the 144 lb sheet of paper? So far, I’ve used the transparent and the bright white 20 x 26. I really prefer the bright white.  Have you used one or the other? Is the 144 lb bright white worth the price difference? I notice the size of the 144 lb is larger and the price is higher as well.

I would love to hear your opinions about this.  Thanks! Marian

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
This entry was posted in art, landscape, Marian's Art Studio, Painting on Yupo, watercolor, watercolor painting, watercolors, Yupo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hmmm…a yupo question?

  1. Sorry, I’ve no experience with the paper.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like my paper the heavier the better. I love the 300 lb paper, but I’m not at all familiar with the Yupo paper.

    Like

    • Marian says:

      Tim, I SO agree with you. Last year, while visiting FL, I used 300 lb arches for a watercolor class & I LOVED it! It was more forgiving and the end product justified the extra cost. Thanks for your comment. I am curious if the end product is really different with Yupo paper or, is a plastic surface just a plastic surface, no matter what? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. LucyJartz says:

    Although I have not used Yupo paper, I recently started using heavier paper for my watercolor, up to 140 lb Fabriano and 300 lb Arches. Anytime I change paint, paper, or brush, there is a learning curve. You might want to make some smaller pieces out of one big sheet by cutting or tearing it, and do some sketches and small paintings. This will give you a chance to find out what the paper does well, and which things are harder. Heavier paper generally stands up to water and scrubbing better, depending on the quality of the paper. I had to get used to the absorption and drying speeds, and texture of my new papers. I hope that having new materials to experiment with will inspire a burst of creativity and discovery. Have fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mehrlich125 says:

    Thanks, Lucy! New materials do inspire discovery and challenge, for sure! I agree that the heavier the paper with watercolors the better the product! Love Arches 300 lb!

    Liked by 1 person

I welcome your comments.

