Cinque Terre

Cinque Terre, Yupo paper, 20 x 26, watercolor

I decided to work on Yupo paper again but this time I attempted a landscape of a small town.  IMHO, I think Yupo lends itself to more free-flowing subject matter (see my last few posts).  While I am less pleased with this result than the underwater fish & the fall leaves it gave me another opportunity to explore this plastic surface.  There are some areas that I added pen and ink. I used a fine tip sharpie to add lines after the painting was complete.

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
This entry was posted in landscape, Marian's Art Studio, memories, nature, ocean, Painting on Yupo, pen & ink, watercolor, watercolor painting, watercolors, Yupo and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cinque Terre

  1. Wouldn’t it be great if there were some sort of liquid application that you could apply–through the use of masking–that would give the yupo paper more tooth? So then you could achieve both the free flowing water effects and more controlled effects on the same surface. Or perhaps something like this already exists, and I just don’t know about it….

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      I saw a video where the artist used masking fluid to fill in lines on the body of a sea horse, let it dry, and then painted but it was for a small area. I find that using more pigment/less water helps to give it greater “tooth.” And, its so forgiving that you can go back in to modify and change things up once it dries. Thanks for your comment!

      Like

  2. lesliepaints says:

    I think this vignette of buildings upon buildings is SO INTERESTING! A difficult task on Yupo.

    Like

    • Marian says:

      I agree, Leslie! I watch a lot of u tube videos demonstrating different techniques on Yupo paper. Bottom line…realizing that painting on Yupo is nothing like painting on Arches 140 lb watercolor paper. Generally, most artists use a brayer to apply a smooth background wash. One artist even dances as she applies the paint giving in to the easy, relaxing flow of the paint on Yupo. Guess I’d better start practicing my dance routine! 🙂

      Like

  3. Kudos for working with buildings-on ANY paper. The most difficult subject to make fluid, I think.

    Like

I welcome your comments.

