En Plein Air

For months, for a variety of reasons, I have not painted. A friend encouraged me to tote a borrowed easel and a stool, and paint at one of the local beaches.  I LOVED it!  I felt totally comfortable painting among the “Light Chasers,” a local group of artists who enjoy painting outdoors. Yes, you need a bit of extra equipment but it is so worth getting up early, catching the brilliant light, and relishing the freedom of the outdoors. There were probably about 25 artists all painting different mediums at a variety of spots along this gorgeous, rustic beach in Venice, FL.

I am going to look for a lightweight, portable easel and stool and appreciate any suggestions you may have. I would like to have a shelf to hold my paints and water.

We stayed for 4 hours. I could have stayed ALL day!

I hope all of my WordPress friends are doing well. I look forward to catching up on everyone’s work!

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
This entry was posted in art, beach, En Plein Air, landscape, Marian's Art Studio, nature, ocean, watercolor, watercolor painting, watercolors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to En Plein Air

  1. Dana says:

    Sounds very enjoyable!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brenda says:

    Beautiful! I can feel the sun and hear the surf

    Like

  3. Jill says:

    I felt instantly calm when I saw your painting. Just lovely!

    Like

  4. That really is a beautiful painting. I would love to be able to get out and paint/draw like this.
    Stew.

    Like

  5. Deena says:

    I love it…..it must have been so tranquil painting on the beach….great work!

    Like

  6. Very nice! I went to an Army Supply store and purchased a stool that was also a backpack, worked well for painting outside, made it easy to grab some paper towels or a sandwich as you sat.

    Like

  7. Oh Marian, this is REALLY delightful! Full of life and energy and so skillfully rendered. Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. lesliepaints says:

    Oh my! The textures in the rocks and the color of that water. Beautiful! I like this a lot, Marian!

    Liked by 1 person

I welcome your comments.

