Fanciful Contour Drawing

ImageContour drawing is fun. No outlining, just inside shapes. Then add values of light, medium and dark and watch the shapes appear. Suddenly there is depth. All you need is pen and ink and paper.

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
This entry was posted in art, beach, contour drawing, line drawing, Marian's Art Studio, Pen and Ink and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Fanciful Contour Drawing

  1. Linda Burgin says:

    And a ton of skill 😍

    Like

  2. Rebecca says:

    Oooh, going to have to try this sometime! Really interesting graphical effect.

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      I enjoyed learning about contour drawing from my mentor in FL. Formerly, in another life she was an art professor at Tufts U., now in her 80’s, very sharp, hilariously funny, and SO talented! Always fun to work with pen and ink! Thanks!

      Like

  3. lesliepaints says:

    I love looking at drawings done like this. So many lines that I find just fascinating! Good job!

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      I created this contour drawing after I was introduced to Zentangles. It has a bit of the same feel but not patterned, and less outlined. I just kept going and having fun with it. Thanks for your comment

      Like

  4. Carol King says:

    Love this. It shows how talented you are.

    Like

  5. What beautiful ink work Marian. It is fun to play with the process. Well done.

    Like

I welcome your comments.

