Spring Flowers – five important minutes

Image 1I waited the 5 important minutes. I found several small items that added up to a better, more thoughtful painting. I added stamens to the flowers which gave them direction. Using Tombows, I added the hand-drawn flower work that is on the original vase (on the left side), and also a bit of detail to scribe out the handle. I received worthy advice from master artist Diane Eugster…always take the 5 extra minutes to observe your painting before you 1. Begin to work on it again, or 2. Call it complete.

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
This entry was posted in bouquets, flowers, Marian's Art Studio, vase, watercolor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Spring Flowers – five important minutes

  1. Linda B. says:

    Quite amazing!

    Like

  2. Great advice. I’m in love with your shadows and reflections!

    Like

  3. lesliepaints says:

    Love the changes you made to this. Most of all, the reds just drew me to it. Really good!

    Like

  4. Carol King says:

    I like your 5 minute wait and then corrections. I say leave it. Love the bright red flowers and all of the shadows around the vase.

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      Carol, thanks so much. I took lots of liberty with my paints, had fun, and painted in the morning when I have my best energy and the brightest natural light flows through the window.

      Like

  5. violetski says:

    So beautiful! ❤️

    Like

  6. laura lecce says:

    That is truly great advice, love your post, and your painting. Very beautiful!

    Like

I welcome your comments.

