Sarasota in Flight

Suddenly I was surrounded by seagulls. They were flying around me. I snapped a photo. I have tried to capture, in watercolor, the gorgeous sun-drenched day as well as the sense of the birds flying all around. This is pen and ink and watercolor on Arches 140 lb cold press.

   

 

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
This entry was posted in art, beach, birds, Marian's Art Studio, birds, seagulls, Sarasota, Marian's Art Studio, Pen and Ink, watercolor, Birds, Seagulls, nature, ocean, Pen and Ink and Watercolor, Uncategorized, watercolor, watercolor painting. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sarasota in Flight

  1. Linda B. says:

    I remember the photo. It was quite extraordinary!

    Like

  2. lesliepaints says:

    You certainly captured what you set out to do, Marian. I love this! …and all that beautiful blue!

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      Leslie, these birds really are beach scavengers and they can be terribly aggressive. I’ve seen them steal a sandwich right out of someone’s grip (mine) and fly away with it. On the other hand, they are broad-winged, and in flight they can be beautiful. Thanks for your kind comment.

      Like

  3. Carol King says:

    You did it! I was ready to run from those birds! Great painting.

    Like

  4. doronart says:

    Marian, I have a painting with many birds flying sitting here for months unfinished, I see you managed to do them justice in your painting, very nice. So please pop over to give me a hand and finish mine also.:-)

    Like

    • mehrlich125 says:

      I was afraid that I could not do justice to painting the birds so I drew them with pen and ink then applied the watercolor all around the birds. Mixed media I guess one might call it. 🎨

      Like

  5. Anna says:

    Beautiful picture/painting 🙂

    Like

I welcome your comments.

