Lush Surroundings

Two years ago I met a woman in Florida. I’ll call her S. S is 20 years my senior and I’m not so young!  We became great friends when I took a drawing class she was holding on the back porch of an old house where I was renting for some of the winter. I came to find out that she lived near me in Boston during the summer months. I began to visit her every week. She invited me to paint and thus I began to attempt acrylics. S is a wonderful mentor, a brilliant painter, and a dear friend. I LOVE painting with her and learning new techniques. We laugh and talk while we paint and then we often share a lunch together.

It’s so enjoyable trying to take something in nature and give it form and shape, as well as a painterly look. I am working on landscapes with S now and I feel like I am making some progress. I have no art school background, so S is helping me to think about composition, color, and shape.

I like the smoothness of the acrylic paint, watching the paints blend and mix on the canvas with a twirl of my brush, and the brightness of the colors once applied. There’s great opportunity to modify a painting with acrylic, it’s forgiving. I still love watercolors, but I’m thoroughly immersed right now in my new medium.

Acrylic 16 x 20, Windsor Newton paints

About mehrlich125

Since I was little I liked to visualize and create things. Painting with watercolors is what makes me happy now. That, and spending time gardening and reading. I love long walks, biking, and the beach. Cape Cod is where I spend a lot of my leisure time.
This entry was posted in Acrylic painting, Art, landscape, Landscape Art, Marian's Art Studio, nature, painting, water and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lush Surroundings

  1. Joyce Kramer says:

    Looking real good! Glad you’re back in the groove..

    Like

  2. ĽAdelaide says:

    You’ve done a fabulous job! Lovely to have such a teacher and friend in one’s life. Have a great weekend!

    Like

I welcome your comments.

